You are here

Port-Jackson

Back
14732000Plan of Port JacksonThis is a precise plan of the English colony of Sydney, showing the surrounding bays. The key set in the medallion at the top lists the locations of the windmills, the governor’s house, the prison, hospital and cemetery etc. The medallion is surrounded by motifs of animals characteristic of this island-continent, notably a wombat, kangaroos, oppossums, an emu and black swans. It also shows weapons – spears and a shield – that also appear in other drawings in the collection of the Natural History Museum in Le Havre. Plan of Port Jackson (Sydney), C.-A. Lesueur, 1802Plan of Port JacksonThis is a precise plan of the English colony of Sydney, showing the surrounding bays. The key set...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/16074-2_det.jpg?itok=uRln6Lu6Muséum du Havre
16142000Drawings by the NativesThis etching uses motifs drawn in pencil by Aboriginal people who were probably asked to draw particular things. It shows silhouettes of fish and kangaroos, and various images of the ‘Blue Mountains god’. The Blue Mountains are west of Sydney. The ‘blue’ relates to the bluish fog due to the evaporation of oil from the eucalyptus leaves. ‘Drawings by the Natives’, taken for etchings by C.-A. Lesueur, 1804 Drawings by the NativesThis etching uses motifs drawn in pencil by Aboriginal people who were probably asked to draw...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/16054_det.jpg?itok=5fpJjga6Muséum du Havre
1000808A New-Holland man This man has body markings, the meanings of which aren’t given in the on-board journals of the savants on the expedition. It is known though that they are ritual body decorations related to the social and spiritual status of the individual. This is one that appears in the publication Account of the Voyage by the name Cou-rou-bari-gal. A New-Holland man (Australia), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803A New-Holland man This man has body markings, the meanings of which aren’t given in the on-board journals of the...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20038-3r_det.jpg?itok=4zMYcWxvMuséum du Havre
1000792A New-Holland manThis man is called Mousquéda or Mousquita, as annotated on the drawing. The meaning of his body decorations is not specified in the on-board journals of the savants on the expedition. This type of decoration could be to do with cultural dances. There are incisions on this drawing made by a stylus, no doubt for the purpose of making a reproduction of the drawing in another medium. A New-Holland man (Australia), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803 A New-Holland manThis man is called Mousquéda or Mousquita, as annotated on the drawing. The meaning of his body...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20039-1_det.jpg?itok=yPPsK97wMuséum du Havre
1000694A New-Holland woman The many annotations on this drawing, and the amendments to the image using white hightlight, are to do with the preparation of the etching of the work, which would be published in the Account of the Voyage. At the bottom right it reads ‘approved for engraving’, and is signed by Peron, Lesueur and Milbert. A New-Holland woman (Australia), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803A New-Holland woman The many annotations on this drawing, and the amendments to the image using white hightlight, are...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20036-1rest_det.jpg?itok=yspRPu8XMuséum du Havre
1000833A woman of New HollandThe three-quarter pose and the framing of the figure in the medallion shape were two frequently-used graphic techniques of the early 19th century. This drawing is the last stage before the etching is prepared for publication in the Account of the Voyage, so it has corrections handwritten as well as marked on the drawing. The approval to engrave is signed by Peron, Lesueur and Milbert. A woman of New Holland (Australia), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803A woman of New HollandThe three-quarter pose and the framing of the figure in the medallion shape were two...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20034-2_det.jpg?itok=APL7e-zQMuséum du Havre
12772000PlatypusThe platypus has characteristics of both mammals and birds. It lays eggs as well as suckles its young. It has fur but also a beak, and lives at once in water holes and on the river banks or lakesides. It was necessary to create a genus especially for them: the monotreme. The first platypus taken back to Europe was thought to be an artificial creation, a taxidermist’s joke. Platypus, C.-A. Lesueur, between 1804 and 1809PlatypusThe platypus has characteristics of both mammals and birds. It lays eggs as well as suckles its...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/80034-1_det.jpg?itok=Z5yay4JlMuséum du Havre
12462000Greater Glider, Petauroides volans This animal is called a ‘glider’ (and the species name means ‘flying’) because it can go from tree to tree with ease. Greater Glider, Petauroides volans (Kerr, 1792), C.-A. Lesueur, between 1804 and 1809Greater Glider, Petauroides volans This animal is called a ‘glider’ (and the species name means ‘flying’) because it can go...Zoom http://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/80089_det.jpg?itok=E0nTmcwjMuséum du Havre

At Port Jackson (Sydney), June-November 1802

On their arrival at Port Jackson, there were only four men on the Géographe who were capable of manoeuvring the ship, aided by English sailors who came aboard. The Naturaliste arrived eleven days later.

They were welcomed and assisted by Governor King, and the sick were able to get better. Both the savants and the officers noted in their journals the rapid prosperity of the colony, founded in 1788 by the British with convicts.

They stayed for five months. This stopover was during the Peace of Amiens, signed by France and England – a fragile and ephemeral peace that nonetheles soothed spirits.

They gathered a rich collection of specimens, particularly from Botany Bay north of Sydney. Peron and Lesueur filled thirty-three chests that were taken on board the Naturaliste when it left for France. It was then replaced by the corvette Casuarina, purchased at Port Jackson, the commander of which knew Louis Freycinet, an officer on the Naturaliste.

 

Visit us

Free entry

How to find us ?
Muséum d'histoire naturelle
Place du Vieux Marché
76600 LE HAVRE
Phone : +33(0)2 35 41 37 28
museum@lehavre.fr

Opening hours

Open from Tuesday to Sunday :
from 10AM to noon
to 2PM to 76PM

Closed on Monday and Thursday morning

More information

The collection database

Up

Le Muséum de demain

Découvrez ici les projets à venir du Muséum !

Soutenir le musée

Il y a 1001 façons de soutenir le Muséum et sans doute une pour vous !

Informations pratiques

Trouvez en quelques clics réponses à toutes vos questions !

Fermer

Découvrez les expositions du muséum

Les expositions et événements du Muséum vous emmènent au plus près du monde animal, végétal et minéral : un voyage fascinant au cœur des sciences et de la découverte, pour toute la famille.

Voir tous les événements Voir toutes les expositions itinérantes
Fermer

Découvrez les collections du muséum

Nous avons sélectionné pour vous les plus beaux échantillons et trésors de nos réserves. Voyage dans le temps et autour du monde...découvrez ces collections !

Voir la base de données des collections

Biodiversité

Fermer

Découvrez les ressources du Muséum

Le Muséum met ici à votre disposition un ensemble de ressources multimédia dédiées au musée, ses activités, ses collections et à la culture scientifique. Pour réécouter une conférence, voir ou revoir la vidéo d'une exposition, découvrir nos éditions numériques et bien plus encore...

Voir toutes les ressources
Fermer

Découvrez la boutique du Muséum

Découvrez ici les éditions du Muséum, les articles de papeterie et souvenirs en lien avec les expositions du musée et ses collections. Naviguez dans la boutique, sélectionnez vos articles et payez en toute sécurité. Bonne visite !

Voir la boutique

Librairie

Les éditions du Muséum : catalogues d'exposition, livres jeunesse et beaux-livres pour offrir ou se faire plaisir !

Papeterie

Une belle sélection de cartes postales, marques-pages et carnets pour sublimer vos écrits !

Souvenirs

Vous trouverez ici de quoi conserver un souvenir du Muséum et de vos expositions favorites...

Fermer

Vous êtes ici

Port-Jackson

Retour
14732000Plan de Port-JacksonCe plan présente précisément la colonie anglaise de Sydney et une vue d’ensemble de la baie. La légende des différents lieux est inscrite dans le médaillon central (moulins, maison du gouverneur, prison, hôpital, cimetière, etc.). Ce médaillon est entouré de motifs d’animaux caractéristiques de cette île-continent : wombat, kangourou, opossum, émeu, cygnes noirs notamment. On distingue également des armes, lances et boucliers, qui sont représentés sur d’autres dessins conservés au Muséum du Havre. Plan de Port-Jackson (Sydney), C.-A. Lesueur, 1802Plan de Port-JacksonCe plan présente précisément la colonie anglaise de Sydney et une vue d’ensemble de la baie....Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/16074-2_det.jpg?itok=uRln6Lu6Muséum du Havre
16142000Dessins exécutés par les NaturelsCette gravure reprend des motifs dessinés au crayon par des Aborigènes auxquels on a probablement demandé de dessiner tel ou tel motif. On voit des silhouettes de poissons, de kangourou et diverses figures du « dieu des Montagnes bleues ». Les Montagnes Bleues (Blue Mountains) sont situées à l’ouest de Sydney. La couleur bleue est liée à la brume bleutée due à l’évaporation de l’huile des eucalyptus. « Dessins exécutés par les Naturels », repris pour la gravure par C.-A. Lesueur, 1804 Dessins exécutés par les NaturelsCette gravure reprend des motifs dessinés au crayon par des Aborigènes auxquels on a probablement...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/16054_det.jpg?itok=5fpJjga6Muséum du Havre
1000808Homme d’AustralieCet homme porte des scarifications dont le sens n’est pas donné par les journaux de bord des savants de l’expédition. On sait cependant qu’il s’agit de décorations corporelles rituelles en lien avec le statut social et spirituel de l’individu. Ce personnage est représenté dans la publication de la Relation du Voyage sous le nom de Cou-rou-bari-gal. Homme d’Australie (Nouvelle-Hollande), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803Homme d’AustralieCet homme porte des scarifications dont le sens n’est pas donné par les journaux de bord des...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20038-3r_det.jpg?itok=4zMYcWxvMuséum du Havre
1000792Homme d’AustralieCet homme est appelé Mousquéda ou Mousquita, nom porté sur le dessin. Il porte des décorations corporelles dont le sens n’est pas particulièrement donnée par les journaux de bord des savants de l’expédition. Ce type de décoration pourrait être en lien avec des danses cultuelles. Le dessin porte des incisions réalisées à l’aide d’un stylet, sans doute destinées à reproduire le dessin sur un autre support. Homme d’Australie (Nouvelle-Hollande), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803 Homme d’AustralieCet homme est appelé Mousquéda ou Mousquita, nom porté sur le dessin. Il porte des décorations...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20039-1_det.jpg?itok=yPPsK97wMuséum du Havre
1000694Femme d’AustralieLes nombreuses annotations sur ce dessin, ainsi que les corrections graphiques à l’aide de rehauts de blanc, sont liées à la préparation de la gravure qui sera publiée dans la Relation du Voyage. En bas à droite, on lit le « bon à graver » signé de Péron, Lesueur et Milbert. Femme d’Australie (Nouvelle-Hollande), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803Femme d’AustralieLes nombreuses annotations sur ce dessin, ainsi que les corrections graphiques à l’aide de...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20036-1rest_det.jpg?itok=yspRPu8XMuséum du Havre
1000833Femme d’AustralieLa pose de trois quarts et l’inscription du buste en médaillon sont deux éléments fréquents du langage graphique du début du 19ème siècle. Ce dessin est la dernière épreuve avant l’étape de la gravure pour publication dans la Relation du Voyage. Il porte donc des corrections graphiques et manuscrites. Le bon à graver est signé de Péron, Lesueur et Milbert. Femme d’Australie (Nouvelle-Hollande), N.-M. Petit, 1801-1803Femme d’AustralieLa pose de trois quarts et l’inscription du buste en médaillon sont deux éléments fréquents...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition_portrait/public/multimedia/20034-2_det.jpg?itok=APL7e-zQMuséum du Havre
12772000OrnithorynquesL’ornithorynque porte à la fois des caractères de mammifère et d’oiseau. Il pond des œufs mais allaite ses petits. Il est recouvert de poils mais porte un bec, et vit à la fois dans des trous d’eau et sur les rivages. Pour lui il a été nécessaire de créer un genre : celui des mammifères monotrèmes. Le premier ornithorynque rapporté en Europe a été interprété comme un montage artificiel, farce de taxidermiste. Ornithorynques, C.-A. Lesueur, entre 1804 et 1809OrnithorynquesL’ornithorynque porte à la fois des caractères de mammifère et d’oiseau. Il pond des œufs...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/80034-1_det.jpg?itok=Z5yay4JlMuséum du Havre
12462000Phalangers Petauroides volansCes animaux sont qualifiés de « volants » puisqu’ils se déplacent aisément de branche en branche. Phalangers Petauroides volans (Kerr, 1792), C.-A. Lesueur, entre 1804 et 1809Phalangers Petauroides volansCes animaux sont qualifiés de « volants » puisqu’ils se déplacent aisément de branche en...Agrandir l'imagehttp://www.museum-lehavre.fr/sites/default/files/styles/exposition/public/multimedia/80089_det.jpg?itok=E0nTmcwjMuséum du Havre

A Port-Jackson (Sydney), juin-novembre 1802

A l’arrivée du Géographe à Port-Jackson, quatre hommes seulement sont aptes à manœuvrer le bâtiment, aidés par des matelots anglais montés à bord. Le Naturaliste arrive onze jours plus tard.

Accueillis et aidés par le Gouverneur King, les malades se rétablissent. Savants et officiers indiquent dans leurs journaux respectifs la prompte prospérité de la colonie, fondée en 1788 par des forçats britanniques.

L’escale dure cinq mois, pendant la paix d’Amiens signée entre la France et l’Angleterre – une paix fragile et éphémère mais qui apaise les esprits.

Les récoltes sont riches, en particulier à Botany Bay, au nord de Sydney. Péron et Lesueur remplissent trente-trois caisses, embarquées par le Naturaliste en partance pour la France. Il est remplacé par la corvette le Casuarina achetée à Port-Jackson, dont le commandement est confié à Louis de Freycinet, officier sur le Naturaliste.

Venir au Muséum

Muséum d'histoire naturelle
Place du Vieux Marché
76600 LE HAVRE
Tél : 02 35 41 37 28
museum@lehavre.fr

Horaires

Ouvert du mardi au dimanche :
de 10h à 12h
de 14h à 18h
Fermé le jeudi matin et le lundi

Tarifs
5€ / 3€
Gratuit moins de 26 ans
Gratuit pour tous, le premier samedi du mois

En savoir +

Base de données des collections

Up